Part 2 Musical links

It has been a few days since Gia found her old journal in the attic. She was trying very hard to not go there again. As she was visiting her past she quickly realised, that she made a terrible mistake opening that diary. She has been trying to distract herself from thinking about Luke by going out and visiting friends, but it was not working . She felt the familiar pull into the darkness.

And now the house was quiet, everyone was out and she was alone, only with her thoughts for company. A disastrous combination. She walked slowly up in to her room blatantly lying to herself, that she was just getting a book, but she knew very well that she was not going to read the book.

There she was, sitting on her bed on a sunny afternoon, light breeze making the sheer curtains dance. “Well, I already read some of it and now I can’t stop thinking about it, so I might as well read the rest.” she thought. But of course she was wrong, it was not that bad yet and she still had a chance to forget it.  The pull was stronger though. “Besides she was not a teenager any more and she could deal with it and solve this once and for all, right?!”

9th December 1992

“Peter was not at school today and Dasies were copying some poems that he scribbled on his desk. There was a lot! They asked me to help them and I ended up sitting right next to Luke. Daisies lent me their walkman, but there was some crap music on it, so I asked Luke if he had some “normal” music.”

Gia smiled at that memory. Luke looked up quite surprised that Gia approached him. “I only have Krabathor and King Diamond, you probably won’t like that.”

“Cool, I actually do like Krabathor!” Gia was also surprised, that they have a same taste in music. “Have you seen them live? They played two weeks ago, and they were amazing!!” Luke looked at her in disbelief, Krabathor wasn’t exactly a girly type of music. It was the heaviest type of metal music known to man.

“No I don’t go to gigs that much.” he said.

Gia has grown to love it, because it helped her to deal with her dad. The anger in the music was fitting in how she felt at times and also prevented her from dissolving into an emotional mess. She also liked, that it was different and not mainstream, and after a very long time living as an obedient good girl she was rebelling.

Her looks were quite eccentric too. She sported a dramatic hair style with a side swept fringe covering her eye. “Maybe that’s why Luke kept staring at her, because she looked different.” she thought. “Or maybe he likes my eyes.” In her opinion, it was the only beautiful feature, that she had. Overall she thought herself to have average looks, not very pretty.

After she was finished with the poems she handed Luke the tape back.

“Thanks!”

“So, what do you think about King Diamond?”

“I don’t really know his music that much.”

“You can borrow the tape if you want.”

“Yeah, ok! Thanks.” she smiled. Luke smiled too.

She listened to the tape on the way back from school, it was an old school metal with King Diamond alternating singing in falsetto and a low growl. She found it quite interesting, very theatrical and dramatic.

Lucky to get a seat on the bus, she was watching people getting on and off the vehicle and thinking about Luke. She was quite intrigued about this guy now. He was quiet, not talking to anybody, just Peter and now Gia. They have the same taste in music…and he keeps looking at her. But not in a normal way.

She always knows when he is looking, she can sense it and when she looks up, they lock eyes for longer than is normal, it is usually Gia who looks away. There are no smiles. Feeling almost exhausted by it afterwards, as if he sucked the soul out of her body and at the same time there is this euphoria. She is confused. “Why am I feeling that way? I don’t even fancy this guy, he is quite tall and has short brown hair and brown eyes, I don’t find him good looking at all. So WTF is this?”

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About giasuniverse

I am compelled to create, I now realize that this is a gift from God, I want to make him happy by sharing it with others. My aim is to bring enjoyment to people, and help in any way I can. I wish to know and do many things. Some of them I do and others I do in my imaginary life. A life long learner, a truth seeker, a philosopher, a dreamer, an adventurer, an artist, and a writer on this wonderful journey called life.

6 responses to “Part 2 Musical links”

  1. bdlheart says :

    “Very long time living as an obedient good girl. She was rebelling. ” I soon tired from trying to be perfect to please my mother and I rebelled mid college. It was a rebellion against her perfection, constant criticism, psychotic control.

    Like

    • giasuniverse says :

      I am glad you rebelled too! I guess I rebelled because “being good” didn’t even work, it didn’t please him or earn me any special treatment or love…I realized that it didn’t matter what I did, and I was so fed up, and angry and resentful…

      Liked by 1 person

      • bdlheart says :

        Luckily, I bonded with teachers which saved me. It was nearing the end of my freshman year in college when I started breaking down, struggling mentally. I rebelled in my mid-twenties.

        Like

      • giasuniverse says :

        That’s great Bdlheart that you at least had someone who helped you! Thank God for some teachers who go beyond their duty, for their care… I had a discussion with one such teacher last week about the same thing, and how he tries his best, but rarely sees “the end product”, how many of us have been touched by a kind teacher… I wonder, did they inspire you to become a one?

        Liked by 1 person

      • bdlheart says :

        I always yearned to be a writer, but I had a teacher gene in me somewhere. Over the years my life path led me on a teaching journey. Yes, they certainly influenced me to be a caring educator.

        Like

      • giasuniverse says :

        That’s great, you’ve done both now! 🙂

        Like

Please leave your thoughts and comments

